Ise, Mie. Ise shrine (伊勢神宮).

UF Blog From Abroad

Weekend of April 27-28 (Fri. to Sat.) – Ise and the Grand Shrine

This past weekend I traveled with Andrew and Tiffany to the peninsula of Ise. When asked about what my Golden Week plans were, I would tell international friends that I was going to Ise, and they would reply with, “What are you going to do there?” or “What’s at Ise?” and questions like that. Wake up, people! It’s where the Grand Shrine is! “Oh that’s cool. Why that shrine?” Because it houses one of Japan’s national treasures! The mirror, guys! It’s so cool! You don’t even know! I mean, I know you can’t see the mirror because it’s in the shrine and all, but it’s also where Amaterasu, the sun goddess, is venerated. Anyways, it was a big deal to me, and I felt like people weren’t even aware.

Anyways, more correctly, the mirror is one of…

View original post 1,173 more words

Leave a Reply

