Ways Students React to English

I have enjoyed your posts. Thank you for sharing. This entry reminds me of my junior high school days, though there was no JET system in those days. I am now in my 50s, and now I think that correct (or almost correct) prounciation is important in speaking and listening. I cannot understand what I cannot pronouce well enough. The students are very lucky in that they have chances to listen to native speaker’s pronunciation.
Wish happy days for you and your students. 😉

graceisinjapan

This statement may come as a shock to people (especially anyone reading with experience in a job similar to an ALT) but…the truth is…students are not always super willing to speak English.

I know. If you need a second, that’s fine.

It certainly makes teaching an interesting challenge, when you know a good number of your students just have no desire at all to be learning the knowledge you are trying to pass on to them. (And I’m sure this is not a phenomenon unique to English education in Japan.)

In elementary school, my favorite thing to do with a large class is to give everyone a card with various information on it, arm them with a question and answer formula, and set them to finding the one person with a matching card. This activity elicits excited enthusiasm and energy from some students, and…well, not that, from others.

In one class…

View original post 751 more words

Leave a Reply

